Sharon Wolfe Cranston Announced As First Woman To Join The Board of Directors of The East Coast Surfing Hall of Fame

Asbury Park, NJ, August 7, 2023 – The East Coast Surfing Hall of Fame is pleased to announce that Florida’s Sharon Wolfe Cranston has accepted an appointment to the Board of Directors effective August 3, 2023. She is the first woman to join the prestigious Board since the organization’s founding by Cecil Lear and Greg Noll in 1996.

Wolfe Cranston is a four-time U.S. Women’s Surfing Champion, ESA Women’s Surfing Champion and East Coast Surfing Hall of Fame Inductee in the Class of 2010. She is a Founding Member of Florida’s “Women of the Waves” and has served as a competition judge for numerous surfing events. Wolfe Cranston has had a long career in Cocoa Beach as a librarian, where she manages academic, artistic and cultural experiences extending from the local community to national and global audiences.

“I am excited to be joining the Board of the East Coast Surfing Hall of Fame and to having the opportunity to contribute to a better future for East Coast surfers,” commented Wolfe Cranston. “It is an honor to have a woman with the history, credentials and skills of Sharon Wolfe Cranston joining the Board, and I am confident that her contributions will have a positive and lasting impact,” remarked ECSHOF President Gary Germaine.

Wolfe Cranston will work alongside Germain, a New Jersey Surfing Hall of Fame Inductee 2015, Greg Loehr, ECSHOF Inductee 2000, Bob Mignogna, ECSHOF 2008 and David Scibal, NJSHOF 2021. The Board is supported by an Advisory Council, which includes Pete Dooley, ECSHOF 2004, Natural Art Surfboards founder and pro tour judge; Sandy Ordille, ECSHOF 2016, who had a brilliant career in the sport’s early years on the Women’s World Tour; PT Townend, the world’s first Men’s Professional Surfing Champion; and Nancy Lear, co-founder Cecil Lear’s daughter, amongst others who have made significant contributions to the sport and Surfing on the Right Coast.

For a complete listing of all Board and Advisory Council Members along with bios, visit the “About” section on the official website,

About the ECSHOF

The East Coast Surfing Hall of Fame is dedicated to the preservation of the history and heritage of East Coast Surfing by enshrining forever the people who have been responsible for surfing’s development and growth on the US East Coast. The ECSHOF was founded in 1996 by one of surfing’s truly great watermen, Greg Noll, along with East Coast legend, Cecil Lear. Every two years, the ECSHOF conducts a public candidate submission process, followed by a thorough nomination and selection process to determine the next ECSHOF Inductees.